Missionaries, Divine Nudges, and an LLC

It’s been said that people don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care. I wholeheartedly believe that is true, and for that reason, I’d like to share the background of the beginnings of this company.

Since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to help people. At one point, my career goal was to be a missionary. While I never ended up shipping out – even though I did almost serve in the Peace Corps after seminary – the Divine nudged me into ministry. Going to seminary and serving as a youth pastor resonated deeply with my desire to provide assistance and spiritual guidance to people as a way of improving their lives.
Yet, outside of the the formal work, I could often be found giving to, sitting with, listening to, or cheering up someone. Quite a few people called me “Mama,” because I was constantly taking care of people. My draw was typically to leadership, as I could see the burdens that they carried and the needs that they had in the midst of their service to others.
It has always brought me immense joy to make others happy and to see them excited about something. Teaching young people as a youth minister brought some awesome aha! moments that further solidified my desire to empower through education as well.
Then, when the unthinkable happened and I was let go from my youth ministry position because of my sexuality, I was heartbroken. I knew I was called to ministry, and I wanted more than anything to affirm people in who they were, providing encouragement and guidance, but I didn’t think I’d be able to do so now that I had acknowledged my truth and decided to live it out loud. Even though I was hurt and angry, my calling prevailed when I preached my last sermon, and I spoke words of affirmation and care despite the hatred I had encountered.
As I continued forward in my journey, I found a whole new group of people that needed the kind of help that I had wanted – the LGBT Christian community. Having had sermons preached against us, we needed to know the love of God in profound ways, and my partner and I found a niche in which we taught whoever would listen the unconditional love of God. 

Pairing my desire to aid and affirm people with my various job experiences (customer service, grant writing) and “random” interactions (helping a friend start a business), I began to see that there was more to myself than a 9 to 5 (something I hadn’t fully embraced the idea of) and what others thought of me. As I embraced my skill set, things that I had been doing my whole life, and the growing Life Coaching industry, I realized that there was NO reason that I shouldn’t respond to said call as a way of living a more full life.

I couldn’t very well encourage others to take steps of faith and go after their dreams if I wasn’t willing to do the same. Thus, ARTaylor LLC was finally born on March 10, 2016.

I have a passion for seeing people reach new levels in their lives. All of us have dreams, and I believe that everyone should have the opportunity and assistance to achieve them. If you are willing to put in the work, then you should be able to do the things that will make the world a better place. So whether you need guidance to resources, next steps, or just someone to walk with you and tell you that you can do it, I pride myself on being an affordable that you should make in yourself.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

