Mourning But Motivated and Moving

So today, the unspeakable happened…

I am still not sure that I can formulate the sentence, but for the next 4 years, it will affect our everyday lives. Feelings of sadness, frustration, fear, anger, and more have been swamping my social media timelines. Hearts are heavy as the antithesis of compassion, love, and the best of humanity is sworn into the highest office in the land (and arguably, the world).

Admittedly, I am among those who mourn. I’m sad that my country STILL operates on an outdated electoral system that can counter the will of the people in favor of “equalizing” the states. I’m sad that people have been so politically blinded that they can vote against their self-interest in the name of rhetoric and nationalistic ideology. I’m sad that racism burns so deeply in the hearts of some that Obama is an incompetent ape, but Donald Trump is an intelligent, capable leader who will bring change to the working class. I’m sad that a man who believes that sexual assault is a perfectly acceptable way of relating to women is now in charge of political bodies that still debate whether women should be paid the same as men.

BUT

I am moving forward! As the song says, “time keeps on slipping into the future.” I could sit down and get stuck, being upset and frustrated, but life will still keep marching around me. So, even with tears in my eyes or anger in my heart, I have to keep moving toward positive ends.

And I am motivated! I’m motivated, because the kids I teach every day grew up with a black president, and they need to be reacquainted with the search for justice and true equality. I’m motivated because the people of my generation and those coming behind are full of energy that needs direction in order to affect positive change. I’m motivated, because MLK wasn’t the only person to have a dream, and we need to see more dreams realized.

So, if you’re looking for a place to start, a way to get connected, or some guidance in going forward, connect with ARTaylor LLC. Yes, we’re mourning, but we’re also motivated and moving!

Leave a Reply

